SMFR Board of Director Election Information

South Metro Fire Rescue Fire Protection District will be conducting a May 5, 2020 polling place election to elect Directors to Director Districts 1, 3, 4 and 5 for a term of three (3) years.

New South Metro Fire Rescue (SMFR) board district lines were recently adopted to adjust to the newly-expanded South Metro boundaries with the inclusions of Littleton Fire Rescue and Cunningham Fire Protection District. The South Metro Fire Rescue Board of Directors – who represent the citizens, businesses and visitors in the District – will now be composed of 7 members.  

There will be an election on May 5, 2020 for director districts that are open, and this will be a mail-ballot election. The election was called to fill 4 of the 7 director districts (three seats are currently filled until 2022). Currently, terms for SMFR board members are 4 years, and there are no term limits, although the 2020 election will only be a 3-year term as elections transition to odd years. 

Each director is required to be an eligible elector (resident or property owner) within one of the 7 director districts, however, they are elected by all eligible voters in the South Metro Fire Rescue Fire Protection District (which spans nearly 300 square miles throughout Arapahoe, Douglas and Jefferson counties).

  1. Current Election Information

May 5, 2020 Election

Special District Election Quick Reference Guide

Candidate Bios

Get Election Results (to be posted after election date)

  1. Voter Information

Check My Registration  

Request an Absentee Ballot

Request a UOCAVA Ballot

Mail in ballots may also be dropped off at:
South Metro Fire Rescue
9195 East Mineral Avenue
Centennial, CO  80112

  1. Campaigns

Election Calendar

Full Director District Boundaries Map

Self-Nomination and Acceptance Form

Completed forms must be hand-delivered or emailed to:
                C/O South Metro Fire Rescue
                9195 East Mineral Avenue
                Centennial, CO  80112

****Do not mail Self-Nomination and Acceptance Forms***

Secretary of State Fair Campaign Practices Manual

The map below reflects the newly-adopted changes to the district boundaries. Please click here or on the map below for more information specific to each district, how many electors, terms for board members, as well as what board seats are open for the May 2020 election.

undefined Opens in new window